Sometimes, when you have to get somewhere on time, you have to drive. When you have a doctor's appointment, medical emergency, court date, or job interview, you may have to drive because you live too far away or public transportation isn't good and will take too long. The problem is that the police are not very sympathetic when you drive on a suspended license, whatever your reason was.
Minimum Jail Time for Driving on a Suspended License
There are a number of reasons the state might take away your driver's license. The Georgia Department of Driver Services mandatorily suspends a the license of a driver convicted of using a vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude police; leaving the scene of an accident; driving with a revoked registration; violations of the Georgia controlled Substance Act; and of course, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
When a driver is arrested in Atlanta for driving under the influence, one of the first things to happen is the police officer will take away the driver's license. The driver will get a temporary driving permit good for 30 days. However, the 30 days is only the time limit of the temporary permit. If you want to fight the suspension, then you only have 10 days to file a letter requesting an administrative license suspension hearing. The ALS hearing is separate from the criminal process, and will affect whether your license will be suspended. The letter and ALS hearing can both be handled by your Atlanta DUI lawyer.
For some people, their first experience with driving on a suspended license may come after the judge suspends their license during a court hearing. People drive to the courthouse for their hearing, and then can't get home. This may tempt some people to drive home on a suspended license, despite the danger of getting stopped by a deputy or police officer. Other people may be tempted to make a quick trip to the grocery store or pharmacy because they don't think they will get caught. You may be able to get a limited driving permit after paying a fee, which will allow driving to and from work, medical appointments, school, DUI school and substance abuse support group meetings.
The penalties for getting caught driving on a suspended license can be pretty severe. For the first time, you may have to spend a minimum of two days in jail, in addition to hundreds of dollars in fines. A second or third conviction will mean at least 10 days in jail, and up to $2,500 in fines. A fourth driving on a suspended license offense is actually a felony.
Driving on a Suspended License Defense Lawyer
If you or a loved one have been arrested for driving on a suspended license after a DUI in Atlanta, you may not know where to turn. In many cases, the penalties can be avoided completely by seeking out a qualified and experienced Atlanta defense lawyer who dedicates their practice to defending people charged with driving under the influence and other traffic offenses. I understand what driving means to you and your family, and will help to guide you through the administrative and criminal proceedings, to make sure you get fair treatment, and get your suspension lifted. Call my office anytime, 24/7.