What Will Happen to Your Driver's License After Your Second DUI?
A first DUI was bad enough, but a second will signal some serious consequences ahead. You will no doubt be worried about the possibility of having two convictions on your criminal record, increased jail time, more fines and more DUI school. You will probably also be thinking about getting an experienced DUI lawyer, so you won't have to go through the process alone. An Atlanta DUI defense lawyer can make sure you are treated fairly. This is really important when it comes to the consequences affecting your driving privileges. Where the restriction after a first DUI are relatively minor, the limits on your driving ability after a second DUI will be much harder to deal with.
It is highly recommended that you seek out an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer, one who has devoted their practice to representing people charged with drunk driving. In order to make the best decision for you, you need to consider what will happen to your driver's license after a second DUI.
After a first DUI, it was readily possible to get a limited use permit, to allow you to drive to and from work, to and from school, and to and from DUI school. That limited permit could be obtained right after the suspension, without any long waiting period. That option is not available for a second DUI.
Instead, after a second DUI within a 5 year period, it will take at least 18 months before you can get your driver's license reinstated by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. It may take up to 3 years! The first 120 days involve a total suspension of driving privileges, with no possibility of getting a limited use driving permit. This means no driving to or from work or school. If you want to go anywhere during this time, you'll have to rely on getting rides, public transportation or walking or biking.
After 120 days, a driver can request a limited permit, which has to be approved by the court. The court may, at their discretion, approve an ignition interlock device (IID) permit. This requires installation of a device on the car which will not start, or continue to drive, unless the driver blows clean breaths into the machine. The IID has to be on the car, and the driver is still limited to driving to and from work, school, alcohol and substance abuse meetings, and regular monitoring of the IID. After that, the IID may be removed upon approval, for the remainder of the total 18 months. Still, during the rest of that period, driving is restricted to limited driving purposes. Only after completion of the reinstatement requirements, and minimum suspension period can a driver have their license reinstated.
Lawyer in Atlanta Defending Second DUI
If you or a loved one has been arrested a second time, charged with driving under the influence in Atlanta, don't risk 18 months of driving restrictions. Not being able to drive can risk your job, and make your day-to-day life miserable. Call me and I will make sure you are treated fairly by the courts and the state. Let's work to stop your license from being suspended, and fight the charges against you.